Tuesday Tip: Drop the Base

18 Sep

Hello Lovers!

As you can see from the title, my Tuesday Tip post name is a nod to my love of dubstep! Aside from that, this post will also recognize some of my most used and favorite products as eyeshadow bases. An eyeshadow base is something that you use to assist your shadow in not only lasting longer, bu also aids in giving a shadow more depth, vibrancy and/or dimension. I ALWAYS use an eyeshadow base because I tend to go anywhere from 8-14 hours with my makeup on. I also use it because I am a Hue Lover and it is wonderful to give a color as much vibrancy as possible. In my first ever Tuesday Tip I spoke about primers and how they help your makeup last all day, a primer can be used as a base, but I prefer to use other products with my primer to help it along. I feel that wearing primer under my base helps to prevent creasing and wear on my base. There are many things that can be used as a base, you are not limited to products that say ‘eyeshadow base’, there are a number of products that can be used as alternatives.

What else can a base do for you? One of the most wonderful and awesome things about primers and bases, would be that they can give a much better payout to a product that is relatively inexpensive. Ever wonder how some beauty gurus can get professional quality makeup with drugstore brands? Well a good primer and a good base can make all the difference! You can use makeup from the dollar store, Target or a high end store and get amazing results when you have a good primer and base. For some info on primers you can check out my postΒ Tuesday Tip: Make your makeup last!!. and for info on eyeshadow base alternatives that are good for a variety of things, just continue reading!

There are a number of base alternatives that you can find when you’re shopping at your local beauty supply store (Ricky’s, Sehpora, MAC, Ulta, etc) I will only be writing about my twoΒ  go to products for bases in this summer.

NYX Jumbo Pencil

I am a HUGE fan of the widely talked about NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk as a white base. I would say that I use it in about 98% of my looks. It is the perfect matte white base to put anything on top of. I also use it as an inner corner and brow highlight often. NYX Jumbo Pencils can be used as cream shadows, bases or eyeliners which makes them very versatile. I have even used them for some of my colored eyebrow looks. I definitely suggest using a primer under these pencils because they can crease, but aside from that they are great! NYX Jumbo Pencil is easy to blend out and work with when using shadows, it is also a great sticky base for loose shadows that you are using. They come in a huge variety of colors (over 25 shades)Β  and are very affordable. They can be found on NYXcosmetics.com or at Ulta, Sears or Nordstrom Rack as well as online sites like Amazon and Ebay.

Maybelline 24HR Color Tattoo By Eye Studio

These hit the ground running when they showed up on the market in 2012. They have been compared to a drugstore version of MAC’s Paint Pots. I have never tried a MAC Paint Pot, but I can say that I truly love this product. These are cream shadows that can be used alone or as a colored base for an eyeshadow. I own all 9 original shades as well as the limited edition shades that have come out. That is how much I love these!! They are an affordable product with an amazing color payout and long wear. Though I can’t say that this is definitely 24hr wear, I can say that it always lasts me through the time I am wearing it. Though the shades are amazing, once they set they don’t budge….this can be a good and a bad thing. It’s great for long wear through the day, but when doing your makeup you have to be very careful with placement because these are very difficult to blend out or move once they are down. These can be found in any store that carries Maybelline products as well as online.

Noteworthy Products: There are many other products that I use or have heard about and can’t wait to try. These have reviews just as good as the products in this post and are definitely worth checking out!

– Urban Decay 24/7 Eye Shadow Pencil

– Milani Shadow Eyez Pencils

– MAC Paint Pot

Do you use an eyeshadow base? If you do, what is your favorite base to use?

Thanks for reading! And remember….

Kim Loves Hue πŸ˜‰

Disclaimer: Not all of these images are owned by Ai Love Hue, some have been collected from external sources for the purpose of visual aid. We do not claim any artistic rights to these images.

2 Responses to “Tuesday Tip: Drop the Base”

  1. OrReet_Designs September 20, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Whoa! i LOVE the last picture! Is that Purple Brows!!! Sick. I HAVE to do this for my next photoshoot! Its so hot!

    • kimloveshue September 20, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      Thanks!! Yup…. colored brows are kinda my thing and purple is my favorite color. I definitely recommend trying it!! It always adds a little something extra to your makeup.

Leave a Reply

